Entry opens for EU Award for Investigative Journalism 2024

Journalists from the Western Balkans and Türkiye can now submit their investigative stories published in 2023 for the EU Award for Investigative Journalism 2024.

In addition to the national awards, the organisers will choose the best regional investigative stories for the second year in a row. The regional award aims to inspire stories which transcend national boundaries and address challenges impacting the entire region.

The annual award fund remains at 10,000 euros per country, with an additional 10,000 euros allocated for the regional Award. Prizes for both national and regional categories are as follows: 5,000 euros (first place), 3,000 euros (second place), and 2,000 euros (third place).

Eligible stories should advance freedom of expression, uphold the rule of law, and shed light on diverse topics affecting national and regional dynamics. These may include stories on organised crime, corruption, extremism, foreign influence, human rights violations (including in the digital realm), and other issues crucial for public awareness.

Journalists can submit entries for either the national, regional award, or both, and may make a maximum of three applications to the competition.

International jury of judges

The EU Award for Investigative Journalism 2024 is organised by Thomson Media as a part of the Strengthening Quality Journalism in Western Balkans and Türkiye II” project, which looks to improve quality news and independent journalism across the region.

The jury is made up of local and international media experts, editors, academics and experienced journalists who bring diverse perspectives to ensure a fair and rigorous evaluation process.

This year, the jury members of the national competitions have the additional right to suggest stories they recognise as having value for the regional competition, even if the story was originally submitted for the national category. 

The project is funded by the European Union, and it is implemented by a consortium composed of Balkan Investigative Reporting Network BIRN Hub, Central European University (CEU) Hungary, Association of Journalists (AJ) Türkiye, Thomson Media (TM) Germany, University Goce Delcev Stip (UGD) North Macedonia, The Independent Union of Journalists and Media Workers (SSNM) North Macedonia, Media Association of South-East Europe (MASE) Montenegro and Balkan Investigative Reporting Network Kosovo (BIRN Kosovo).

The deadline for submission is 13 June 2024 midnight (CET).

To submit your stories for the national and regional awards, please visit this page.

In case you have any further questions, please contact

Explore our projects across the globe