Young Journalist Award 2017 call-out

Thomson Foundation, in partnership with the UK Foreign Press Association (FPA), is inviting young journalists from around the world to submit their most compelling stories.

Now leading into its fifth year, the Young Journalist Award is Thomson Foundation’s annual journalism competition, dedicated to finding and inspiring ambitious and emerging journalistic talent from across the globe.

Previous winners have each possessed the most important traits necessary to be successful in journalism: a unique voice, a fresh perspective and a strong passion not only for their subjects, but also for their craft.

Loyal supporters of the foundation  the world’s longest established international media development organisation  will already know how the award works, but here's the lowdown for newcomers.


Search for new talent

The competition is open to journalists aged 30 or under from countries with a gross national income per capita of less than $20,000. Those who meet the criteria are welcome to submit a portfolio of three published pieces of work produced in the 12 months preceding the deadline for submissions, which is Friday 18 August, 2017. They can be in any format  print, audio, video, multimedia or a combination of all four.

An esteemed panel from the foundation  all highly experienced journalists within their own right  will tackle the substantial, scouring through hundreds of entries from young journalists from across the globe which, in previous years, have included Africa, the Indian subcontinent, China, South America, parts of Central Asia and the Middle East, for stories that are revelatory, prompt public debate and have led to, or have the potential to lead to, positive change in society. 


Enter the 2017 Young Journalist Award by 18 August, 2017

I recommend that any journalist under 30 and from a developing country apply for this incredible opportunity! It opened so many doors for me.

Yousra Elbagir, 2016 winner

We draw up the shortlist of 12 then leave the final decisions to our international supreme court. Last year, we welcomed three independent FPA judges from Italy, Switzerland and Australia.

While only three finalists can make it to London to attend the prestigious gala awards night in November, along with a host of other potential award winners and leading figures from the world of journalism, there is space to salute the longer shortlist of 12 on the Thomson Foundation website and social media channels.

“This is the start of a fascinating period for the foundation because we are privileged to get access to a rich mix of compelling stories from across the world,” says Thomson Foundation chief executive, Nigel Baker.

“Previous winners have moved on and up in their careers, won other distinguished awards and continued to unearth news that has had a serious impact on their communities and countries. We look forward to assessing the latest tranche of submissions.”


Video highlights

Watch our 2015 Young Journalist finalists during the gala award night at the Sheraton Park Lane Hotel in London.




How to enter

Submissions for this year’s Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award will close on 18 August, 2017. Use the entry form to apply. Visit the Young Journalist section to learn more about the award. For queries relating to your submission, email: Good luck!


Related content

Competition reopens: 2017 Young Journalist Award

Thomson Foundation launches its search for the best Young Journalist for 2017

Yousra Elbagir is the 2016 Young Journalist winner

“I want to move past the overworked images of famine, poverty and war in Africa”

Former Young Journalist winner influences change in law

“I'm so happy. We want to work towards a just world for girls and women”



Explore our projects across the globe